Snapchat, Instagram, Twitter… Oh My

What does it mean to detox?

The first image that probably pops into our head is one of juices and tv ad infomercials.  We get the televised version of someone talking about losing weight and some magical smoothie that will fix all of your problems in 14 days. But the one that I am talking about today would be probably be referred to by some as going off the grid or having no clue what’s going on in the world.  To detox means to get rid of something that can be harmful or addictive. So for the next week I am going to detox from social media that I use: Snapchat, Instagram and Twitter.
Now some people would probably be like how would you stay in touch with your friends? So let’s touch on that point. If you can’t talk me because I don’t have an app but I still have a working phone, are we really friends? I noticed something one day that really changed my perspective. I found myself going on these apps and was distracted or taken away from moments I should have been enjoying. I was too busy trying to post something on snap rather than trying to be with the person I was with.  I am more focused on how other people are going to perceive what I post than what it means for me.  The  prettiest filters, smooth captions and witty tweets don’t make me happy.  Yes there are people who comment and like but nobody goes the step further to actually connect with me.  I find more sense of peace writing on here once or twice a week than the wasted times I found myself scrolling on my timeline when I was bored.  At east through here I feel like I am accomplishing something with my time- a way to think and clear my mind.  Now don’t get me wrong I love snapchat and pictures and the gifs on Twitter but I feel like I just need a mental break.  A break to just worry about the people who are actually around me and myself.

Now some people might think I might just redownload the app and today there were moments I wanted to go Instagram just to scroll but I knew there was nothing really to accomplish from that.  I think it’s important to be mindful of our time and what we put our efforts into.  We like to think we have all the time in the world to do things but in reality our clocks are faster than we think.  So I would like to be able to break away from that need to always go on those apps and make a better habit of going on less or when I truly having nothing to do.
So for a week I am going to just disconnect from the overly unconnected social media connected world. I really can’t think of any better week in the summer since its going to be the fourth of July and there are so many festivities for family time.  Like the picture for this post was taken not because anybody on my timeline would see it but because after I had taken time to enjoy the view with my family I thought it be nice for me to remember.  I hope that this detox helps me to be not only a better person for myself but also for the people I surround myself with.

Until my next cup of coffee,

a social media free girl

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

